Sagrada Familia

Basilica of the Sagrada Familia


Access: Rue de Mallorca, 401. M° Sagrada Familia

Opening hours: April to September: every day from 9 am to 8 pm, until 6 pm the rest of the year.

Admission: 15 €, 19,50 € with audio guide. Attention! Reservation is preferable.


A major and unfinished work by the Catalan architect Antoni Gaudi, who devoted part of his life to it, the Sagrada Família is the emblematic monument of Catalan modernism and the city of Barcelona.

Exceeding both the Alhambra of Granada and the Prado Museum in Madrid, with more than three million annual visitors, the Sagrada Família is the most visited monument in Spain.

The parts built during Gaudi’s lifetime, the crypt and the façade of the Nativity, are declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO.

Expiatory Temple, in Catalan its full name is “Temple Expiatori de la Sagrada Família”, the works are financed by donations and alms without any public funding. This has meant that some work has not always been done at crucial times. However, since the 90s, with the increasing influx of visitors, the economic situation and the reputation of the Sagrada Familia have increased.

History of a masterful project

The history of this beautiful religious building began on December 31, 1881, when a man named Josep Maria Bocabella bought a block of houses in the name of the “Association of the Devotees of St. Joseph”.

The money collected by the charity was to be used to build a church and schools. The architect Francisco del Villar y Lozano was responsible for the design of a neo-Gothic church. The first stone was laid on Saint Joseph’s Day 1882 by Bishop José Maria de Urquinaona.

Bocabella supporting the project of a replica of the sanctuary of Loreto to which Francisco del Villar did not adhere, disagreements multiplied. Joan Martorell i Montells, architect assessor, then proposed his apprentice, Antoni Gaudi, carrier of a more ambitious project.

The arrival of Gaudi

In contrast to Villar, at only 31 years of age, Gaudi proposes a very personal project: a temple of naturalist-modernist architecture composed of five naves, an apse, a crossroads and an ambulatory.

Three facades and eighteen towers, twelve to symbolize the apostles and four for the evangelists, one surmounted by the morning star for the Virgin and one in the center to symbolize Jesus Christ, complete this project. The one dedicated to Jesus culminating at 172.50 meters in height will be the highest..

Reflecting the history and mysteries of the Christian faith, the facades represent the three stages of Jesus’ life: the Nativity, the Passion and the Glory. As for the cross, it refers to the heavenly Jerusalem, symbol of peace.

Gaudi dedicated the rest of his life to this temple 120 metres long and 45 metres wide. Its total surface of 4 500 square meters has a capacity of 14 000 people.

While the crypt was inaugurated in 1885 and work on the Nativity façade began in 1891, Gaudi understood that his life would not be enough to complete this great work, which was in danger of being altered by lack of public interest and funding.

Antoni Gaudi was overthrown by a tramway and died on 10 June 1926. After having devoted a quarter of a century of his life to its construction, he will see completed only the Nativity façade, the Saint-Barnabé tower and an external part of the apse wall. Gaudi is buried in the crypt of the chapel dedicated to the Virgin Mary.

Work continues

It took 10 years, from 1926 to 1936, for Domènec Sugrañes, Gaudi’s assistant, to complete the work on the three towers that remained to be built, thus completing the construction of the entire Nativity façade.

Catalan anti-clerics set fire to Gaudi’s workshop in 1936 during the Civil War, destroying all plans and models, sketches and guiding information left by Gaudi.

Several architects : Francis Quintana, Isidre Puig i Boda and Lluis Bonet i Gari, took over the work in 1944 after having decided how to proceed with the work while taking Gaudi’s aspirations into account.

Then, once the construction of the façade of the Passion was voted by the association of the devotees of Saint Joseph in 1953, the works began and in 1976, the towers completed and inaugurated for the fiftieth anniversary of Gaudi’s death. The crypt was completed in 1958 and the museum opened in 1961.

In 1990, the installation of the first statues of the Passion façade by Josep Maria Subirach was the subject of controversy because of the aridity and contemporaneity of their style, which was very different from the one Gaudi used for the Nativity façade. Finally, the central nave completed in 2000, the roof of the temple was completed in 2008.

The façade of the Nativity

Known as the Levant, it is the only one to have been finished during Gaudi’s lifetime. It is from this facade overlooking Marina Street that the work continued. It has three portals representing from left to right Hope, Charity and Faith.

In the centre on the main door stands a cypress tree symbolising the Tree of Life. It is surmounted by a T-shaped cross, appearing tau for the symbol of God the Father. The diagonals in the shape of X which cover it represent the chi, symbol of Christ.

Gate of Hope. The sculptures visible on the central part evoke the wedding of Mary and Joseph in a cave as well as various symbols.

Gate of Charity. The columns that frame it represent the mother of God and Joseph.

Gate of Faith. It shows the Visitation, Jesus and the doctors of the Temple.

The Sagrada Familia Museum

Opened in 1961, the museum is located under the crossing of the transept, in the underground of the temple on the site of the former workshops of the building. It was enlarged after the Sagrada Familia schools were moved in 2002.

The museum has a collection of models and plans, old and original drawings, photographs of the evolution of the works as well as tools for the preparatory studies carried out by Gaudi and models of the sculptures on the façade of the Passions made by Josep Maria Subirachs.


Visualisation of the Finished Basilica


The Mystery of Creation


Inside

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Cities
Barcelona  
Catalonia  
Tarragona  
Hotels
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Sagrada Familia Hostel

Barcelona – From 20 €

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Yeah Barcelona Hostel

Barcelona – From 32 €

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Acta Antibes

Barcelona – From 130 €

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Hola Hostal Eixample

Barcelona – From 24 €

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Primavera Hostel

Barcelona – From 31 €

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Hostal Felipe 2

Barcelona – From 59 €

Scroll Up

Sagrada Familia

Basilique de la Sagrada Familia


Accès : Rue de Mallorca, 401. M° Sagrada Familia.

Horaires : avril à septembre : tous les jours de 9 à 20 h, jusqu’à 18 h le reste de l’année.

Entrée : 15 €, 19,50 € avec un guide audio. Attention ! Réserver est préférable.


Œuvre majeure et inachevée de l’architecte catalan Antoni Gaudi, qui y consacra une partie de sa vie, la Sagrada Família est le monument emblématique du modernisme catalan et de la ville de Barcelone.

Dépassant aussi bien l’Alhambra de Grenade que le Musée du Prado à Madrid, avec plus de trois millions de visiteurs annuels, la Sagrada Família est le monument le plus visité d’Espagne.

Les parties réalisées du vivant de Gaudi, la crypte et la façade de la Nativité, sont déclarées patrimoine de l’humanité par l’UNESCO.

Temple expiatoire, en catalan son nom complet est « Temple Expiatori de la Sagrada Família », les travaux sont financés par des dons et des aumônes sans aucun financement public. Ce qui a eu pour effet de ne pas toujours effectuer certains travaux à des moments cruciaux.

Cependant depuis les années 90, avec l’afflux de plus en plus croissant de visiteurs, la situation économique et le renom de la Sagrada Familia se valorisent.

Histoire d’un projet magistral

L’histoire de ce bel édifice religieux débuta un 31 décembre 1881, jour où un nommé Josep Maria Bocabella, acheta un îlot de maisons au nom de « ’ l’Association des dévots de Saint-Joseph »’.

Cette somme collectée par l’aumône devait servir à l’érection d’une église ainsi qu’à la construction d’écoles. Ce fut l’architecte Francisco del Villar y Lozano qui fut chargé d’élaborer le projet d’une église de style néogothique. La première pierre en fut posée le jour de la Saint-Joseph de l’année 1882 par l’évêque José Maria de Urquinaona.

Bocabella soutenant le projet d’une réplique du sanctuaire de Lorette auquel Francisco del Villar n’adhérait pas, les désaccords se multiplièrent. Joan Martorell i Montells, architecte assesseur, proposa alors son apprenti, Antoni Gaudi, porteur d’un projet plus ambitieux.

L’arrivée de Gaudi

À l’opposé de celui de Villar, à seulement 31 ans, Gaudi propose un projet très personnel : Un temple à l’architecture de tendance naturaliste-moderniste composé de cinq nefs, d’une abside, d’une croisée et d’un déambulatoire.

Trois façades et dix-huit tours, douze pour symboliser les apôtres et quatre pour les évangélistes, une surmontée de l’Étoile du matin pour la Vierge et une au centre pour symboliser Jésus-Christ, complètent ce projet. Celle dédiée à Jésus culminant à 172,50 mètres de hauteur en sera la plus élevée.

Reflétant l’histoire et les mystères de la foi chrétienne, les façades représentent les trois étapes de la vie de Jésus : la Nativité, la Passion et la Gloire. Quant à la croisée, elle renvoie à la Jérusalem céleste, symbole de paix.

Gaudi va dédier le reste de sa vie à ce temple d’une longueur de 120 mètres pour une largeur de 45. Sa superficie totale de 4 500 mètres carrés a une capacité d’accueil de 14 000 personnes.

Alors que la crypte est inaugurée en 1885 et les travaux de la façade de la Nativité commencés en 1891, Gaudi comprend que sa vie ne suffira pas à achever cette grande œuvre qui de plus risquait d’être modifiée par manque d’intérêt public et de financements.

Renversé par un tramway, Antoni Gaudi décèdera le 10 juin 1926. Après avoir consacré un quart de siècle de sa vie à sa construction, il ne verra achevées que la façade de la Nativité, la tour de Saint-Barnabé et une partie extérieure du mur de l’abside. Gaudi est enterré dans la crypte de la chapelle dédiée à la Vierge Marie.

Les travaux continuent

Il fallut 10 ans, de 1926 à 1936, à Domènec Sugrañes, l’assistant de Gaudi, pour achever les travaux des trois tours qu’il restait à édifier pour ainsi achever la construction de l’ensemble de la façade de la Nativité.

Des anticléricaux catalans mirent le feu à l’atelier de Gaudi en 1936 durant la guerre civile, ce qui eut pour effet de détruire tous plans et maquettes, ébauches et informations directrices laissées par Gaudi.

Plusieurs architectes : Francis Quintana, Isidre Puig i Boda et Lluis Bonet i Gari, reprirent le flambeau des travaux en 1944 après avoir décidé comment procéder aux travaux du chantier tout en tenant compte des aspirations de Gaudi.

Puis, une fois votée la construction de la façade de la Passion par l’association des dévots de Saint-Joseph en 1953, les travaux commencèrent et en 1976, les tours achevées et inaugurées pour le cinquantième anniversaire de la mort de Gaudi. La crypte a, elle, été achevée en 1958 et le musée ouvert en 1961.

En 1990, l’installation des premières statues de la façade de la Passion réalisées par Josep Maria Subirach fit l’objet de polémiques en raison de l’aridité et de la contemporanéité de leur style très différent de celui que Gaudi utilisa pour la façade de la Nativité. Enfin, la nef centrale achevée en 2000, la couverture du temple fut complétée en 2008.

La façade de la Nativité

Dite du Levant, elle est la seule à avoir été terminée du vivant de Gaudi. C’est de cette façade donnant sur la rue Marina que les travaux ont continué. Elle est dotée de trois portails représentant de gauche à droite l’Espérance, la Charité et la Foi.

Au centre sur la porte principale s’élève un cyprès symbolisant l’Arbre de la vie. Il est surmonté d’une croix en T, figurant tau pour le symbole de Dieu le Père. Les diagonales en forme de X qui le recouvrent représentent le chi, symbole du Christ.

Porte de l’Espérance. Les sculptures visibles sur la partie centrale évoquent les noces de Marie et Joseph dans une grotte ainsi que divers symboles.

Porte de la Charité. Les colonnes qui l’encadrent représentent la mère de Dieu et Joseph.

Porte de la Foi. Elle figure la Visitation, Jésus et les docteurs du Temple.

Le musée de la Sagrada Familia

Ouvert en 1961, le musée se trouve sous la croisée du transept, dans le souterrain du temple à l’emplacement des anciens ateliers de l’édifice. Il a été agrandi après le déplacement des écoles de la Sagrada Familia en 2002.

Le musée dispose d’une collection de maquettes et de plans, de dessins anciens et originaux, de photographies sur l’évolution des travaux ainsi que des outils destinés aux études préparatoires effectuées par Gaudi et des maquettes des sculptures de la façade des Passions réalisées Josep Maria Subirachs.


Modélisation de l’aboutissement de la construction


La construction de la basilique


L’intérieur

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Villes
Barcelone  
Catalogne  
Tarragone  
Hotels
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Sagrada Familia Hostel

Barcelone – A partir de 20 €

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Yeah Barcelona Hostel

Barcelone – A partir de 32 €

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Acta Antibes

Barcelone – A partir de 130 €

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Hola Hostal Eixample

Barcelone – A partir de 24 €

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Primavera Hostel

Barcelone – A partir de 31 €

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Hostal Felipe 2

Barcelone – A partir de 59 €

Circuits
Randonnées en Catalogne

Suivez les sentiers de Catalogne avec notre sélection de belles randonnées …

Explorer
Randonnées au pays basque et Pyrénées

Ici, entre France et Espagne, de splendides randonnées s’ouvrent à vous...

Explorer
Scroll Up