Oulad Driss, 17th century ksar
At 5 km before M’Hamid coming from Zagora, the ksar of Oulad Driss was built in the 17th century in the heart of the oasis of the same name. At that time it was inhabited by the Chorfas and Draouas tribes.
With only one access door originally, its construction has evolved with the addition of 4 additional doors over time.
Inside its enclosures, a main path leads to the many inhabited derbs, some of them completely covered, but adorned with precious skylights and supported by beams made of tamarisk wood.
The doors giving access to the houses are made of palm wood. Livestock are kept in stables.
The Oulad Driss ksar, fairly well maintained, has benefited from electricity and running water since 2000. Currently, 150 families live there, representing a population of about 1000 inhabitants.
The oasis of Ouled Driss is surrounded by small dunes. However, wheat is grown in the shade of palm and tamarisk trees.
A museum presenting a traditional house was created there in 1979 in the old house of “Chir”, the village chief. It is accessed by a large inner courtyard surmounted by arches on 2 levels.
At the initiative of a Ksar inhabitant, you can discover all the ancient and traditional objects that bear witness to the local life of yesteryear; wooden and metal kitchen utensils, weaving looms, women’s and men’s clothes from the Draa Valley.